Celebrating the best in local design. Premier’s Design Awards open for entries

Published: 4 August 2017

The Knog Bike Bell - Winner of the 2016 Premier's Design Awards
The Knog Bike Bell - Winner of the 2016 Premier's Design Awards

Entries are now open for the 2017 Victorian Premier’s Design Awards, celebrating the best in local design.

The annual awards recognise Victorian designers and businesses that use effective, sustainable and transformative design to make our state a better place to live, work and visit.

Entries are now open across eight categories, and will close Friday, 1 September.

  • Architectural Design
  • Communication Design
  • Industrial and Product Design
  • Service Design
  • Digital Design
  • Design Strategy
  • Fashion Design
  • Tertiary Student Design

They will be judged by a panel of renowned Australian and international judges, with a new two-stage judging process being introduced this year.

The 2017 award winners will be announced at a ceremony at the National Gallery of Victoria in late 2017.

Victoria’s strong and diverse design industry generates $5 billion in revenue each year and employs more than 85,000 people in design-related roles. These awards recognise their impact across Victoria’s economy and community.

The Premier’s Design Awards are supported by the Victorian Government through its $115 million creative industries strategy, Creative State. They form part of a comprehensive package of initiatives to promote the value of design, strengthen the industry and reinforce Victoria’s position as a design leader.

More information about the awards is available on the Premier's Design Awards website.