Victorian international education ministerial advisory roundtable

The Victorian International Education Ministerial Advisory Roundtable was established in 2014 to provide a regular opportunity for international providers, peak bodies, students and the state government to share information on matters impacting upon the performance and growth of the sector. The role of the advisory roundtable is to provide advice to the minister and to share information on emerging issues, and to facilitate coordinated action across providers and government. Currently scheduled to meet around twice annually, the advisory roundtable is driving a collaborative and strategic approach to the development of Victoria's international education sector.


The advisory roundtable comprises core participants reflecting the role that education providers, industry peak bodies, schools, students, government and aligned sectors including tourism play in supporting the international education sector:

  • The Hon. Steve Herbert MP, Minister for Training and Skills
  • Prof. John Dewar – Vice-Chancellor, La Trobe University
  • Mr Jeffrey Smart – Vice-President International and Future Students, Swinburne University of Technology
  • Ms Mary Faraone – CEO, Holmesglen Institute
  • Mr Andrew Williamson – CEO, Victorian TAFE Association
  • Mr Mel Koumides – Deputy National Chair, Australian Council for Private Education and Training
  • Ms Ann Wright – RMIT English Worldwide and member of the English Australia Board
  • Ms Nina Khairina – National President, Council of International Students Australia
  • Ms Manorani Guy – President, Victoria and Tasmania, International Student Advisers' Network of Australia
  • Mr Mat Jacobson – CEO, Ducere
  • Ms Helen Zimmerman – Executive General Manager, Navitas
  • Mrs Emilia Fields – President of VISION International and Director of International Student Program, Whitefriars College
  • Ms Linda Brown – Laureate, Australia
  • Mr Joel Backwell – Executive Director, International Education Division, Early Childhood and School Education Group, Department of Education and Training

Page last updated: 20 July 2016